Copenhagen, Denmark

Copenhagen is the capital and most populated city of Denmark with an urban population of 1,263,698 and a metropolitan population of 2,013,009. It is situated on the eastern coast of Zealand, 164km east of Odense and 28km northwest of Malmö, Sweden. The city iteself is divided in several municipalities. The core «Copenhagen Municipality» for example contains the enclave of Frederiksberg, a municipality in its own as a fishing village in the 10th century, Copenhagen became the capital of Denmark-Norway in the early 15th century. Beginning in the 17th century, under the reign of Christian IV of the German House of Oldenburg, Copenhagen developed into an important European regional centre, consolidating its position as capital of Denmark and Norway with resources from both kingdoms being used to build institutions, even palaces and the famous fortifications which shapes the city still. Magnificent architectural expressions of prestige in Denmark-Norway include some of Copenhagen’s most important tourist attractions, such as The Børsen, The Rundetårn, Rosenborg Castle and more recently Frederiksstaden. After suffering from the effects of plague and fire in the 18th century, the city underwent a period of redevelopment. This included construction of the prestigious district of Frederiksstaden and founding of such cultural institutions as the Royal Theatre and the Royal Academy of Fine Arts. After further disasters in the early 19th century when Nelson attacked the Dano-Norwegian fleet and bombarded the city, rebuilding during the Danish Golden Age brought a Neoclassical look to Copenhagen’s architecture. Later, following the Second World War, the Finger Plan fostered the development of housing and businesses along the five urban railway routes stretching out from the city centre. | Kontakt | Privacy | Terms